

NESO National Energy System Operator

Code Administrator Meeting Summary

GC0168 Submission of Electro Magnetic Transient (EMT) Models (Workgroup 4)

Date: 17/12/2024

Contact Details

Chair: Sarah Williams (NESO) sarah.williams@nationalenergyso.com

Proposer : Frank Kasibante (NESO) frank.kasibante1@nationalenergyso.com

Key areas of discussion

Open Actions

The proposer shared updates to action 15 and 16 raised at Workgroup 3, and it was agreed that they both could be closed.

Legal Text Review

The changes agreed during Workgroup 3 were shared with the group, the Proposer highlighted the amendments and Workgroup members were in agreement.

A number of further amendments were agreed to be updated by the Proposer, these will be completed and the Legal Text shared with members for completion.

A Workgroup member who was unable to attend submitted comments during Workgroup 4 and the Proposer along with the members reviewed them during the session. Whilst discussing the members' point in relation to PC.A.9.7.3, requirements of the validation report, it was agreed that the Proposer would take this away and clarify the requirements and update members at the next Workgroup meeting. **Action 17**

Workgroup Consultation Discussion

As members received the Workgroup Consultation at short notice, with little time to review it, a short break of 20 mins was suggested, giving members a chance to raise any points in the document they felt needed amending.

After the break the Chair talked through the document taking comments from Workgroup members, these were added into the document to be reviewed and amended as necessary.

A member highlighted that a vast number of Grid Code definitions had been mentioned in the document but not all had not been capitalised, which was necessary. An action was taken to address this issue. **Action 18**



Public

Members agreed that the Workgroup Consultation should be delayed slightly to allow all questions to be answered and ensure the consultation was as detailed as possible before being issued.

The Chair and Proposer agreed to update the timeline and share the amended details with the Workgroup.

<u>Timeline</u>

Timeline to be amended to delay the Workgroup Consultation slightly and change some of the Workgroup dates. This will be shared with Workgroup members when completed.

Terms of Reference

The Workgroup reviewed the Terms of Reference to ensure all key points had been considered. It was agreed that the Workgroup Consultation would be updated with all the necessary discussion.

Next Steps

The Workgroup agreed to move the Workgroup Consultation date and have a further Workgroup meeting to ensure the Consultation document is completed fully.

Actions

For the full action log, click here.

ID	Description	Owner	Due	Status	Date
15	PCA 5.4.2. b paragraph to be split and the words "Generator" and "Shall" to be removed.	Proposer	17/12/2024	Closed	17/12/2024
16	PCA 9.7.6 "modifying" should be amended to "Modification" the Proposer agreed to make this change	Proposer	17/12/2024	Closed	17/12/2024
17	PC.A.9.7.3 Validation Report comment from SB to be taken away and clarify the	Proposer	16/01/2025	Open	17/12/2024

2



Public

•

•

.

	requirements then update members at the next Workgroup meeting.				
18	Proposer to review Grid Code definitions mentioned in the document that were not capitalized and updated as necessary.	Proposer	16/01/2025	Open	17/12/2024
19	PC.A.5.4.3.2 and PC.A.9.2.2.1 – clarifications were sought by a workgroup member via email	Proposer	07/01/2025	Closed	09/01/2025

Attendees

Name	Initial	Company	Role
Sarah Williams	SW	NESO Code Governance	Chair
Deborah Spencer	DS	NESO Code Governance	Technical
			Secretary
Frank Kasibante	FK	NESO	Proposer
Dr Isaac Gutierrez	IG	Scottish Power	Workgroup
		Renewables	Member
Martin Aten	MA	Uniper	Workgroup
			Member
Ross Strachan	RS	EDF Renewables	Workgroup
			Member
Graeme Vincent	GV	SP Energy Networks	Workgroup
			Member
Srinivas Edla	SE	SSE	Workgroup
			Member
Akshay Prajapati	AP	Orsted Power UK	Workgroup
			Member



Public

•

•

Ranjan Sharma	RS	Siemens Gamesa Renewables	Workgroup Member
Julie Richmond	JR	Scottish Power Renewables	Workgroup Alternate
Shivraman Mudaliyar	SM	NESO	Observer
Jay Ramachandran	JR	NESO	Alternate
Antony Johnson	AJ	NESO	Observer
Shangen Tian	ST	SSE	Observer
Mike Kay	MK	P2 Analysis	Observer
Toktam Sharifian	TS	KREC	Observer
Arsalan Zaidi	AZ	Ofgem	Authority Representative