

Grid Code Review Panel Elections 2024

Elections Report

28 November 2024





Contents

•

•

•

Contents	3
Executive Summary	3
Grid Code Review Panel Election Voting and Outcome	3
Industry Engagement	5
Conclusions	6



Contents

Executive Summary

The process to elect Grid Code Review Panel Members and Alternates for the period 01 January 2025 until 31 December 2026 commenced on 03 September 2024 and concluded on 12 November 2024.

The general arrangements to be followed for an Election are set out in the Governance Rules, Annex GR.A of the Grid Code. The NESO (National Energy System Operator) as the Code Administrator administers each Election.

The purpose of this document is to:

- Provide a summary of the Grid Code Review Panel Election process for 2024; and
- Clarify the approach that was adopted for the Election in a number of detailed areas.

Grid Code Review Panel Election Voting and Outcome

The process to elect Grid Code Review Panel Members and Alternate Panel Members for the period 01 January 2025 until 31 December 2026 commenced on 03 September 2024.

On the 03 September 2024 the Code Administrator opened the Election nominations window, for a period of four weeks. The Grid Code Review Panel guidance document can be found using the following <u>link.</u>

All Grid Code Users were eligible to nominate a candidate to stand in their respective constituent categories. To facilitate this, links to the following documents were sent to Parties via email and published on the Code Administrator's <u>website</u>:

• The Electoral Roll;

For the purposes of the 2024 Election arrangements, Grid Code Users were defined as those persons who were a Party to the CUSC Framework Agreement (with the exception of National Energy System Operator), or a Materially Affected Party as of 31 August 2024. Each Party was allocated a unique electoral reference number;

- Nomination Form; and an
- Election Guide.

The Election Guide provided a summary of the Election arrangements and the following timetable to enable Parties to participate actively and effectively in the forthcoming Election arrangements.

3



The following seats on the Panel were already appointed as part of the Grid Code Review Panel members nominations process:

- One (1) Supplier seat and one (1) alternate seat
- One (1) Onshore Transmission Owner seat and one (1) alternate seat
- One (1) Offshore Transmission Owner (OFTO) seat and one (1) alternate seat

The seats that are appointed without elections are:

- One Independent Panel Chair and one alternate Appointed by National Energy System Operator (NESO).
- One National Energy System Operator (NESO) seat and one alternate seat Appointed by National Energy System Operator (NESO).
- Two Distribution Network Operator (DNO) seats and two alternate seats Appointed by DNOs.
- One Consumer seat and one alternate seat appointed by Citizens Advice and Citizens Advice Scotland.

There were 4 Generator seats and 2 Alternative Generator seats available for appointment through the Grid Code Review Panel Elections process.

The Grid Code Review Panel Election results for the Generator seat and Alternate seats are as follows:

Panel Member	Seat
Andrew Allan	Generator
John Harrower	Generator
Scott Green	Generator
Sigrid Bolik	Generator
Adegboyega Akomolafe	Generator Alternate
Darshak Shah	Generator Alternate

There were 226 votes in total, with the above candidates receiving one or more votes.



Industry Engagement

The Code Administrator committed to providing updates to industry in relation to the process.

Date	Milestone
Tuesday 03 September 2024	Invitations sent out to CUSC Schedule 1 Users/Materially Affected Parties to nominate candidates to stand for election.
Friday 04 October 2024	Nomination Forms to be returned no later than 5.00pm.
Friday 11 October 2024	List of candidates and voting papers to be circulated, or we will announce the outcome of the Elections.
Tuesday 12 November 2024	Voting papers to be returned no later than 5.00pm.
Friday 28 November 2024	Election results will be announced.
Wednesday 01 January 2025 – Thursday 31 December 2026	Newly elected Panel Members and Panel Alternate Members will take up office.

Finalising the Electorate

On 12 August 2024, the Code Administrator shared the latest version of CUSC Schedule 1 List and Materially Affected Parties and asked Industry parties to check the information was correct.

Industry parties were given until 23 August 2024 to contact the Code Administrator with any amendments. No requests for amendments were received and the Code Administrator published the final Electoral Roll on the 03 September 2024. This included the CUSC Schedule 1 List of Users and Materially Affected Parties as of 31 August 2024. Each individual party on the Electoral Roll was also provided with a unique Electoral reference number.

Nominations

Nominations closed at 5pm on 04 October 2024. Eight nominations were received within the deadline. These nominations were for the Generator Panel member seat and Alternate Panel member seat.

5



Conclusions

The 2024 Grid Code Review Panel Elections was conducted primarily by email, with key documentation available on the Code Administrator's <u>website</u>.

As with previous Elections, Grid Code Users appeared to be comfortable with the integrity of the Election via e-mail and no security or related issues were raised. The Code Administrator is satisfied with the integrity of the Grid Code Review Panel Elections and commends the results to Authority.

The Grid Code Review Panel for periods 01 January 2025 – 31 December 2026 will be as follows:

Panel Member	Role
Trisha McAuley	Independent Panel Chair
Adegboyega Akomolafe	Generator Alternate
Alan Creighton	Distribution Network Operator
Andrew Allan	Generator
Antony Johnson	NESO – National Energy System Operator Alternate
Claire Newton	NESO – National Energy System Operator
Darshak Shah	Generator Alternate
David Monkhouse	Offshore Transmission Owner
Graeme Vincent	Distribution Network Operator – Alternate
Gurpal Singh	Authority Representative
John Harrower	Generator
Lewis Morgan	Onshore Transmission Owner
Matt White	Distribution Network Operator
Noel McGoldrick	Offshore Transmission Owner Alternate
Rashmi Radhakrishnan	BSC Representative
Richard Wilson	Distribution Network Operator – Alternate
Robert Longden	Supplier
Scott Bull	Authority Representative



•

•

Scott Green	Generator
Sigrid Bolik	Generator
TBC	Onshore Transmission Owner Alternate
ТВС	Consumer Representative
TBC	Consumer Representative Alternate